Monthly Archives: November 2016

Small Great Things, Jodi Picoult, author, Cassandra Campbell, Audra McDonald, Ari Fliakos, Narrators

Jodi Picoult has written a well researched and really difficult exposé on race relations and just what those two words really mean, in this, her latest book. She believes that there will be those on all sides of the issue … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment

The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correo, author, Joy Osmanski, narrator

This novel is narrated by the character called Hannah.  It travels through 75 years as it illustrates courage and endurance in the face of hopelessness, but, unfortunately, at some points in the narrative, it descended into the realm of a … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment

The Boat Rocker, Ha Jin, author; Edoardo Ballerini, narrator

Feng Danlin and Yan Haili, were married in China. He was an unsophisticated, aspiring author, and she turned out to be a scheming young woman who also imagined herself as a writer, He loved her and believed her love for him was … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

And After the Fire, Lauren Belfer, author; Xe Sands, Simon Vance, narrators

When this book began, I was immediately drawn into it as it described an incident at the end of WWII. However, when it began to alternate between the lives of Sara Levy, a brilliant musician, in the late 1700’s and … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment

Belgravia, Julian Fellowes, author; Juliet Stevenson, narrator

Fans of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey will enjoy this book look-alike. English novels have a certain sophistication and sense of style that American authors often fail to lend to their novels. In this book, there was no sex, no … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment

The Faithful, Alice Hoffman, author; Amber Tamblyn, narrator

Part of this novel was based on previously published short stories about Shelby Richmond, the main character, and her best friend Helene Boyd, who sustains a traumatic injury in a car crash. Helene was left in a permanent coma state. … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment

A Woman of God, James Patterson, Maxine Paetro, authors; Therese Plummer, narrator

 While I found the book interesting because of the content, which was partly about volunteering one’s time and working in the South Sudan to help those less fortunate, I found Brigid Fitzgerald to be a totally implausible character. The authors … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Books for Adults, Fiction | Leave a comment